Board and Leadership

United Way’s Board of Directors is a distinguished group of leaders in the Greater Cleveland area whose strategic decision-making and guidance steer the organization. We recruit people and organizations from across the community who bring the passion, expertise, and resources needed to get things done, which is reflected in the make-up of our board.

United Way of Greater Cleveland Board Members Directory

Board Leadership

Paul J. Dolan
Board Chair
Cleveland Indians
Marc S. Byrnes
Immediate Past Chair
Oswald Companies
Ira C. Kaplan
Vice Chair
Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff LLP
Gregory L. Stefani
Treasurer and Chair, Finance Committee
Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
Victor Ruiz
Esperanza, Inc.
William F. Lacey
Assistant Secretary
GE Lighting, a Savant company
Keith J. Libman
Chair, Audit Committee
Bober Markey Fedorovich & Co.
Felton Thomas Jr.
Chair, Community Impact Committee
Cleveland Public Library
James A. Ratner
Chair, Governance and Nominating Committee
RMS Investment Group
George A. Sample
Chair, Human Resources Committee
Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
Dee Bagwell Haslam
Chair, Marketing & Brand Strategy Committee
Cleveland Browns
Sonali B. Wilson, Esq.
Chair, Public Policy Committee
Cleveland State University
Patrick M. Pastore
Chair, Resource Development Committee
PNC Bank
Delos M. “Toby” Cosgrove, M.D.
Distinguished Chair of the Impact Institute
Cleveland Clinic (Retired)
August A. Napoli
President & CEO
United Way of Greater Cleveland


Chris Adams
Park Place Technologies
Thomas W. Adler
Playhouse Square Real Estate Services
Harriet Applegate
North Shore Federation of Labor AFL-CIO (retired)
Craig Arnold
Eaton Corporation
Edward J. Bell
Gries Financial Partners
India L. Birdsong
Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority
Logan Broadbent
PPG Industries
Maynard A. “Mike” Buck
Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff LLP (retired)
Matt Carroll
Cuyahoga County
Nabil Chehade, M.D.
The Metrohealth System
Rev. Dr. Jawanza Karriem Colvin
Olivet Institutional Baptist Church
Michele L. Connell
Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP
John R. Corlett
The Center for Community Solutions
Colleen Cotter
Legal Aid Society of Cleveland
Karen R. Cronin
Applied Materials
Joe DiRocco
Fifth Third Bank
David J. Enzerra
The Lubrizol Corporation (Retired)
David C. Fulton Jr.
Clearstead Advisors, LLC
Patrick Gareau
Catholic Charities
Eric S. Gordon
Cleveland Metropolitan School District
André Gremillet
The Cleveland Orchestra
Howard W. "Hoby" Hanna
Howard Hanna Real Estate Services
J. David Heller
NRP Enterprises LLC
Elizabeth M. Hijar
The Centers for Families and Children/Circle Health Services
Stephen Hoffman
Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Foundation
Andrea M. Hogben
Medical Mutual of Ohio
Hon. Frank G. Jackson
City of Cleveland
Alex Johnson, Ph.D.
Cuyahoga Community College
Sharon Sobol Jordan
Unify Labs
Len Komoroski
Cleveland Cavaliers and Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse
Susan D. Krantz
Zinner & Company LLP
Cecil J. Lipscomb
United Black Fund of Greater Cleveland
Kevin Martin
Tomislav Mihaljevic, MD
Cleveland Clinic
Dr. David B. Miller
Case Western Reserve University
Shari Obrenski
Cleveland Teachers Union
Daniel O'Malley
North Shore Federation of Labor AFL-CIO
Andrew J. “Randy” Paine III
Key Institutional Bank
Jeffery K. Patterson
Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority
Kim Meisel Pesses
Carnegie Companies, Inc.
Allison Taller Reich
Frantz Ward LLP
Ronald B. Richard
Cleveland Foundation
Brian J. Richardson
Enid B. Rosenberg
Community Volunteer
Erika Rudin-Luria
Jewish Federation of Cleveland
Jasmin Santana
Cleveland City Council
Beverly J. Schneider
Taras G. Szmagala Jr.
Eaton Corporation
Daniel P. Walsh Jr.
Citymark Capital
Paul L. Wellener IV
Vanessa L. Whiting, Esq.
AES Management Corp.
Lorna Wisham
First Energy
Jeffrey D. Zimon
Zimon LLC

Life Directors

Richard J. BuoncoreMAI Capital Management
Paul ClarkPNC Bank (Retired)
Alexander M. “Sandy” CutlerEaton Corporation (Retired)
Terrance C.Z. EggerThe Plain Dealer (Retired)
Robert W. Gillespie Jr.KeyCorp (Retired)
Henry J. Goodman *H. Goodman Inc.
Alex MachaskeeAlex Machaskee & Associates, L.L.C.
Morton L. Mandel *Parkwood Corporation
Henry L. Meyer III* *KeyCorp
Sandra PianaltoFederal Reserve Bank of Cleveland (Retired)
Richard W. Pogue, Esq.Jones Day
Robert S. ReitmanRiverbend Advisors
William R. RobertsonKirkland Capital
Cheryle A. Wills-MatthewsJALAD Group

Emeritus Directors

William E. Butler
Julien L. McCall

* Deceased

Leadership and Staff

August A. Napoli
President & Chief,
Executive Officer

Helen Forbes Fields
Executive Vice President & General Counsel

Julianne Gozar
VP, Human Resources and Operations & Chief Operations Officer

Deborah Enty
VP, Finance & Chief Finance Officer

Aaron Petersal
VP, Resource Development & Chief Development Officer

Ken Surrat
VP, Community Investment & Chief Community Investment Officer

William Winans
VP, Brand Strategy & Chief Communications Officer

Karen Perko
Director of Community Engagement, United Way Services of Geauga County