PUBLIC AND PRIVATE SECTOR PARTNERS COLLABORATE ON FACE MASK DONATION AND DISTRIBUTION AS PART OF COVID-19 RESPONSE EFFORTS

Nearly 100,000 KN95 face masks provided to 100 Greater Cleveland nonprofits to help address shortage

CLEVELAND, OHIO: Seven public and private sector organizations partnered together to fulfill the need for protective face masks on behalf of local service organizations as they continue to serve the community during the COVID-19 pandemic.

This initiative was coordinated by Marc Byrnes, Cleveland civic leader, Chairman Emeritus of Oswald Companies and previous Board Chair at United Way of Greater Cleveland, and Ronn Richard, President and CEO of the Cleveland Foundation, in cooperation with the Catholic Diocese of Cleveland, Factory Direct Health, Jewish Federation of Cleveland, MedWish International, Oswald Companies and United Way of Greater Cleveland.

MedWish International volunteered to warehouse, sort and distribute the face masks to the agencies. United Way worked directly with MedWish and the team to coordinate distribution of the 100,000 masks to 100 local agencies. Catholic Diocese of Cleveland, Cleveland Foundation, Jewish Federation of Cleveland, Oswald Companies and United Way funded the mask donations. Factory Direct Health, a California-based supply chain management company, focused on cost reduction and quality assurance, sourced the masks on a pro bono basis.

B-roll, including partner organization and agency interviews, photos and videos about this collaborative response to the needs of nonprofit agencies serving the community can be accessed at vimeo.com/user/8481302/folder/1968374 by entering the password masks. Interview opportunities are also available.

 

B-roll and video interviews include:

Marc Byrnes, Chairman Emeritus of Oswald Companies and previous Board Chair at United Way of Greater Cleveland

David Heller, Board Chair at Jewish Federation of Cleveland

Rick Kemm, Executive Director at May Dugan Center

Carolina Masri, Executive Director of MedWish International

Nancy Mendez, Vice President of Community Impact at United Way of Greater Cleveland

Ryan Moreau, Co-Founder of Factory Direct Health

Ronn Richard, President and CEO of the Cleveland Foundation

Michael Sering, Vice President of Housing and Shelter at Lutheran Metropolitan Ministry

 

Media contacts:                                                                                

Catholic Diocese of Cleveland – Jim Armstrong at 216-696-6525 X 3290 and jarmstrong@dioceseofcleveland.org

Cleveland Foundation – Alan Ashby at 216-615-7591 and aashby@clevefdn.org

Factory Direct Health – Ryan Moreau at 714-883-4007 and ryan@rypath.com

Jewish Federation of Cleveland – Rebecca Golsky at 216-593-2877-o | 440-476-6875-m and rgolsky@jcfcleve.org

MedWish International – Sakina Kapasi at 216-692-1685 X44 and skapasi@medwish.org

Oswald Companies – Christina Schmitz at 216-658-8540 and cschmitz@oswaldcompanies.com

United Way of Greater Cleveland – Katie Connell at 404-895-5513-m and kconnell@unitedwaycleveland.org