Board of Directors

United Way of Greater Cleveland

Board Leadership

Paul J. Dolan

Board Chair
Cleveland Guardians

Marc S. Byrnes

Immediate Past Chair
Oswald Companies

Vanessa L. Whiting, Esq.

Chair Elect and Chair, Community Investment
AES Management Corp.

James A. Ratner

Vice Chair
RMS Investment Group

Andrew J. “Randy” Paine III

Treasurer and Chair, Finance
Key Institutional Bank

Victor Ruiz

Esperanza, Inc.

Enid B. Rosenberg

Chair, Governance and Nominating Committee
Community Volunteer

George A. Sample

Chair, Human Resources Committee
Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

Keith J. Libman

Chair, Investment Committee
Bober Markey Fedorovich & Co.

Dee Bagwell Haslam

Chair, Marketing & Brand Strategy Committee
Cleveland Browns

Sonali B. Wilson, Esq.

Chair, Public Policy Committee
Cleveland State University

Patrick M. Pastore

Chair, Resource Development Committee
PNC Bank

Sharon Sobol Jordan

President & CEO
United Way of Greater Cleveland


Chris Adams

Park Place Technologies

Harriet Applegate

North Shore Federation of Labor AFL-CIO (retired)

Craig Arnold

Eaton Corporation

Edward J. Bell

Gries Financial Partners

India L. Birdsong

Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority

Kip T. Bollin

Thompson Hine, LLP

Maynard A. “Mike” Buck

Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff LLP (retired)

Matt Carroll

Cuyahoga County

Nabil Chehade, M.D.

The Metrohealth System

Michele L. Connell

Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP

Jenice Contreras

Northeast Ohio Hispanic Center for Economic Development

John R. Corlett

The Center for Community Solutions

Colleen Cotter

Legal Aid Society of Cleveland

Karen R. Cronin

Applied Materials

David C. Fulton Jr.

Clearstead Advisors, LLC

Patrick Gareau

Catholic Charities

Eric S. Gordon

Cleveland Metropolitan School District

André Gremillet

The Cleveland Orchestra

Jerome P. Grisko, Jr.

CBIZ, Inc.

Howard W. "Hoby" Hanna

Howard Hanna Real Estate Services

J. David Heller

NRP Enterprises LLC

Elizabeth M. Hijar

The Centers for Families and Children/Circle Health Services

Stephen Hoffman

Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Foundation

Andrea M. Hogben

Medical Mutual of Ohio

Joy D. Johnson
Joy D. Johnson

Burten, Bell, Carr Development, Inc.

Ira C. Kaplan

Vice Chair
Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff LLP

Len Komoroski

Cleveland Cavaliers and Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse

Susan D. Krantz

Zinner & Company LLP

Cecil J. Lipscomb

United Black Fund of Greater Cleveland

Kevin Martin


Bonnie C. Hughes McNee


Tomislav Mihaljevic, MD

Cleveland Clinic

Dr. David B. Miller

Case Western Reserve University

Shari Obrenski

Cleveland Teachers Union

Daniel O'Malley

North Shore Federation of Labor AFL-CIO

Jeffery K. Patterson

Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority

Kim Meisel Pesses

Carnegie Companies, Inc.

Allison Taller Reich

Frantz Ward LLP

Ronald B. Richard

Cleveland Foundation

Brian J. Richardson


Erika Rudin-Luria

Jewish Federation of Cleveland

Jasmin Santana

Cleveland City Council

Beverly J. Schneider


Taras G. Szmagala Jr.

Eaton Corporation

Felton Thomas Jr.

Cleveland Public Library

Paul L. Wellener IV


Lorna Wisham

First Energy

Jeffrey D. Zimon

Zimon LLC

Life Directors

Thomas W. Adler

Playhouse Square Real Estate Services

Richard J. Buoncore

MAI Capital Management

Paul Clark

PNC Bank (Retired)

Alexander M. “Sandy” Cutler

Eaton Corporation (Retired)

Terrance C.Z. Egger

The Plain Dealer (Retired)

Robert W. Gillespie Jr.

KeyCorp (Retired)

Henry J. Goodman *

H. Goodman Inc.

Alex Machaskee

Alex Machaskee & Associates, L.L.C.

Morton L. Mandel *

Parkwood Corporation

Henry L. Meyer III *


Sandra Pianalto

Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland (Retired)

Richard W. Pogue, Esq.

Jones Day

Robert S. Reitman

Riverbend Advisors

William R. Robertson

Kirkland Capital

Cheryle A. Wills-Matthews *


* Deceased

Emeritus Directors

William E. Butler
Julien L. McCall *
* Deceased

Leadership and Staff

Sharon Sobol Jordan

President & Chief Executive Officer

Deborah Enty

VP, Finance & Chief Finance Officer

Ken Surratt

VP, Community Investment & Chief Community Investment Officer

Karen Perko

Director of Community Engagement, United Way Services of Geauga County

Aaron Petersal

VP, Resource Development & Chief Development Officer

Kristen Popelmayer

Interim VP, Marketing and Brand Strategy

Scroll to Top